Access has been a recurrent theme in library school and rightfully so. Any design decisions should, of course, reflect our profession’s commitment to universal access. That said, it’s wonderful to see a space that goes beyond functional (and we’ve all been to a few libraries were the term “functional” should only be used loosely) to aesthetically pleasing. I can already hear the grumblings about funding, and undoubtedly, money allows a certain freedom to improve. On the other hand, maybe small changes could make more of an impact on the environment than one might think. Kimberly Boylan at WebJunction has a few ideas and not all of them require a fat bank account.

So, I may never have the opportunity to work here:

bnf-paris.jpg

or here:

rijkmuseum-amsterdam.jpg

photo credits: nonist

but I know I will be thinking about feasible ways to enhance my place of work.

