I had the opportunity to attend the OK ACRL conference yesterday. It was my first professional conference in this field, and I’m so glad I went. I was able to meet some of my fellow classmates face to face and chat with my professor a bit. I laughed my way through Dr. Silver’s presentation as he contrasted 1.0 and 2.0, covered blogging aspects including Feevy, and provided other examples of 2.0 in action. His idea of using graphic novels for ESL patrons applies to a search I’ve been conducting for a “user” in another class. I learned about a couple of new OCLC projects, WorldCat’s Identities and FictionFinder, from Dr. Connaway. Overall, the impression I have from her review of the OCLC’s user study is that users feel pretty uncomfortable using libraries. If some of their discontent is about not being able to recognize a librarian (as was suggested), is it out of the realm of possibility that we make ourselves more recognizable? Maybe we could don something other than a name tag in order to encourage them to ask questions.

suplib.gif

Photo Credit: New Jersey State Library

Okay, not necessarily a cape, but you know what I mean.

