I will spare you any of the real but usual excuses for my lack of commitment to this blog. I can tell you that I have felt a fair share of guilt for leaving it out there, hanging, with no conclusion. It’s like that potted plant in my husband’s office that I forget to water; it continues to linger on despite my neglect, nodding its drooping leaves sadly at me when it enters my line of vision.

Fortunately, I have the opportunity to invest more time here as I am motivated to receive a good grade in my Digital Collections course (that might fall into the Maslow’s “esteem”-if you, like me, are trying to relate most information back to a possible comps related question and if you, like me, are thinking of theory-based techniques for leading and organizational problem-solving).

I’ve been working on a little collection of my own this summer, compiling objectives from core classes, mind-mapping recurring themes from classes and from ALA, reviewing information on the comps wiki, considering the LIS issues that are receiving coverage in the blogosphere, and noting the ideas of my professor and my classmates (like here, here, and here). I’ve selected these resources and organized them in various ways that I hope will improve my chances of long-term retention and facilitate my ability to think about them critically. In this process, as in others, I find it particularly interesting when a pattern or relationship emerges from what, at first, seems like distinct entities.

As I read Lee’s “What is a collection?” today, I thought about her reference to Buckland and the primary function of a library collection “to facilitate information seeking by providing its users with convenient access to information resources.” My collection performs this function: I have a physical bookshelf for required textbooks, I have convenient desktop access to a folder containing comps resources in various forms like PDFs and word documents, I have bookmarks for relevant web pages, and I have a reader for blog subscriptions. Further, as proposed by Lee, this collection is user-centered (created by me, for me), and in places, it points to or reaches out to other collections. In this context, I don’t have to worry so much about control or copyright (fair use), but I do have to worry about information overload. Even though I’ve limited the collection to the scope of probable comps content, I find myself struggling with the depth. Do I know enough about each topic to write an essay? Or, the opposite, am I focusing too much on the detail and missing the overall picture?

