I reread my highlights and notes from some of Taylor’s The Organization of Information today. I was reassured to note that “even among information professionals, metadata concepts can appear complex and confusing.” She points out that metadata concepts and categories are “intertwined” and “somewhat fluid,” making my attempts to separate them- in order to understand them better- seem less valuable. I attempted to amend my visual, adding data values, adding relationship arrows, and changing to standards like xml, but I felt that I was mucking it up more.

For anyone considering the Omeka application, have you looked at their listed core fields? For anyone considering public broadcasting metadata, you might take a look at the Public Broadcasting Metadata Dictionary Project. As I am unfamiliar with broadcasting terms, I’m finding the metadata examples helpful.

