Public broadcasting is one of my main methods for keeping up with the news and current events outside of my very library-centric universe. I listen to local radio programming, and I listen to NPR via satellite (was there life before satellite radio?) and online. I know that many people have used public radio as an information resource in the past as well. What is happening with all the archived programs from the local stations? While researching my proposal, I discovered Pacifica Radio online. An excerpt from their website reads:

Chronicling the political, cultural and artistic movements of the second half of the 20th century, Pacifica radio programs include documentaries, performances, discussions, debates, drama, poetry readings, commentaries and radio arts.

The collection contains interviews with individuals like John Coltrane and Alan Arkin in the 1960’s and FDR’s fireside chats in the 1940’s. Unfortunately, these resources are not freely accessible. CDs and tapes of the programs are for purchase. They also have a unique Adopt-a-Tape program where individuals can select a program and donate funds towards its restoration. With these contributions, individuals receive three copies of that program.

I recently watched a fascinating PBS Frontline documentary on the two main presidential candidates this year. Though I have been monitoring their positions on topics that are meaningful to me, there was a lot of background information on these two men in this presentation- information that I had not gathered elsewhere and information that I think informs who they are today. I couldn’t find this one, but Frontline does have a collection of videos online (for free!).

And, just for fun, I caught a reference to this library book domino collection from a Stephen Abram podcast.

